Pick-by-Robot is an innovative way of making life easier for human order pickers – reliable, fast and non-fatiguing. Retrofitting a flexible Pick-by-Robot system upgrades your logistics processes with a forward-looking alternative to manual order picking.

By inventing its patented robobrain® solution, our partner robominds created a modular process intelligence platform entirely based on artificial intelligence. Smart software modules and state-of-the-art hardware components make up a unique system for tailored Pick-by-Robot order picking as an add-on to an AutoStore® system for example.

Benefits of Pick-by-Robot with AI

  • Reliable and non-fatiguing
  • 24/7 operation 
  • Low operating costs 
  • Top-level picking confidence
  • High productivity 
  • Faultless order picking 
  • Easy commissioning and integration in existing picking stations  
  • Self-learning AI

What is Pick-by-Robot?

Pick-by-Robot is a technology for handling order picking processes – fully automatically. The robot relieves human order pickers of the task of collecting the articles needed for one or several jobs.

Order picking robots and their role in logistics

The emergence of Industry 4.0 was the final step of firmly rooting robots in industrial economies. Before that, they were mainly used as mechanical production aids but hardly ever occurred in logistics. But this innovative technology adds real value, particularly when it comes to simple and repetitive order picking activities.

Order picking robots are the perfect choice for multi-shift operation. A Pick-by-Robot system such as robobrain’s® solution directly receives  stock  from the warehouse via an automated conveyor system, to be presented at the order picking station. In the process, the robot picks items from a source bin and places them in one or several target bins.

Pick-by-Robot in real-life applications

Instead of having an order picker or warehouse worker pick items from the correct bin or handling device (picking process), Pick-by-Robot is a fully automatic order picking concept.

The robot’s swivel arm and the corresponding gripper attached to it pick the items from the source bin and transfer them to the target bin. The Warehouse Management System at the line or factory level assigns picking orders to the order picking robot.

Our HiLIS Pick-by-Robot solution: faultless and economic order picking

The flexible swivel arm is at the heart of the Pick-by-Robot hardware. Its mechanical force, simple programming, speed, ergonomic design and integrated camera enable it to complete all order picking jobs. Different gripper tools (parallel pick) or the vacuum picker make the robot fit for multifaceted applications.

Its robobrain-eye optically supervises the processes, while the award-winning robobrain.vision adds an industry-scale 3D camera for perfectly coordinating the robot’s optical and manual elements without any previous teach-in sessions. This is the future of smart picking.

Benefits of our HiLIS Pick-by-Robot solution:

  • HiLIS WMS receives orders from your ERP system, the MES or a web shop and initiates order handling.
  • The WMS sends the picking order directly to the robobrain solution.
  • The flexible order picking robot automatically carries out the task.
  • The system smoothly integrates into existing order picking stations.
  • The productivity of your picking processes increases substantially.

robobrain.vision - fast, smart, intuitive

Hand-eye coordination is one of the most complex of all robotics challenges. What humans consider a matter of course and learn during their first year of life, robots find it very hard to come to grips with.

Artificial intelligence and complex vision algorithms enable robobrain.vision to master this particular task. The camera attached to the swivel arm detects any object and automatically identifies the points at which to perfectly pick up the article.

robobrain.control

robobrain.control provides you with intuitive, smart and simple control over your robot. A user-friendly control interface lets you combine several instructions into a single task which you then drag and drop onto the flowchart. robobrain.control even allows you to control several robots of a station at the same time – independent of the interface.

 

Pick-by-Robot and HÖRMANN Intralogistics - Innovation and reliability guaranteed

While robotic solutions are steeply on the rise in general, they are not widely used for small-parts picking as yet. The simplified technology, intuitive operation, flexible interaction and an interface perfectly adapted to robominds’ robobrain solution turns our innovative WMS HiLIS RoboPick into a future-proof order picking system for intralogistics.

Its swivel arms can be set up rapidly, can be operated without in-depth programming experience, are scalable and retrofitted easily.

 

Try HÖRMANN Intralogistics now to make your intralogistics fit for the future.

Pick-by-Robot ist eine innovative Möglichkeit, den Menschen bei Kommissioniertätigkeiten zu entlasten – zuverlässig, schnell und ermüdungsfrei. Mit einem flexiblen und nachrüstbaren Pick-by-Robot-System erhält die Logistik eine zukunftsweisende Alternative zur manuellen Kommissionierung.

Unser Partner robominds hat mit seiner patentierten robobrain®-Lösung eine modulare Plattform für Prozessintelligenz geschaffen. Sie operiert auf Basis Künstlicher Intelligenz. Smarte Software-Module und moderne Hardware-Komponenten bilden ein einzigartiges System für eine maßgeschneiderte Pick-by-Robot-Kommissionierung – beispielsweise in Ergänzung zu einem AutoStore®-System.

Vorteile von Pick-by-Robot mit KI

  • Zuverlässig und ermüdungsfrei
  • 24/7 Betrieb 
  • Geringe Betriebskosten 
  • Höchste Picksicherheit
  • Hohe Produktivität 
  • Fehlerfreie Kommissionierung 
  • Unkomplizierte Inbetriebnahme und Integration in bestehende Kommissionierstationen  
  • Selbstlernend mit KI

Was ist Pick-by-Robot?

Bei Pick-by-Robot handelt es sich um eine Kommissioniertechnik zur Bearbeitung von Kommissioniervorgängen – und das vollständig automatisiert. Anstelle der Kommissionierer übernimmt der Roboter alle Tätigkeiten beim Zusammenstellen von Artikeln für einen oder mehrere Aufträge.

Die Rolle der Kommissionierroboter in der Logistik

Spätestens seit dem Einzug der Industrie 4.0 haben Roboter in der deutschen Wirtschaft einen festen Platz. Eingesetzt wurden sie bislang überwiegend als mechanische Helfer in der Produktion, während Roboter in der Logistik eher selten anzutreffen waren. Doch gerade für einfache, sich stetig wiederholende Bewegungen beim Kommissionieren bietet die innovative Technik einen echten Mehrwert.

Für den Einsatz im Mehrschichtbetrieb ist ein Pickroboter prädestiniert. Bei einem Pick-by-Robot-System wie der robobrain®-Lösung erfolgt die Bereitstellung der Ware aus dem Lager über eine automatische Fördertechnik bis zum Kommissionierarbeitsplatz. Die Artikel werden durch den Roboter aus einem Quellbehälter in einen bzw. mehrere Zielbehälter gepickt.

Pick-by-Robot: so sieht die Praxis aus

Anstelle des Lagerarbeiters bzw. Kommissionierers, der Artikel aus dem jeweiligen Behälter oder Ladehilfsmittel nimmt (Pick-Vorgang), handelt es sich bei Pick-by-Robot um eine vollständig automatisierte Kommissioniermethode.

Die Artikel werden direkt vom Schwenkarm mit der dazugehörigen Greifertechnik aus dem Behälter gegriffen und im Zielbehälter abgelegt. Der Pickroboter erhält seine Kommissionieraufträge vom übergeordneten Warehousemanagement-System.

Unsere HiLIS Pick-by-Robot-Lösung: für fehlerfreies und wirtschaftliches Kommissionieren

Das Hardware-Herzstück unseres Pick-by-Robot-Systems ist der flexible Schwenkarm. Mit mechanischer Kraft, einfacher Programmierung, Geschwindigkeit, ergonomischem Design und integrierter Kamera übernimmt er sämtliche Kommissioniertätigkeiten. Dank unterschiedlicher Greif-Tools (Parallel-Pick) oder dem Vakuum-Picker garantiert der Robot vielseitige Einsatzmöglichkeiten.

Über das robobrain-eye werden die Abläufe visuell erfasst. Die preisgekrönte robobrain.vision erlaubt dem Robot mit einer industrialisierten 3D-Kamera eine perfekte Hand-Auge-Koordination, ohne vorher eingelernt zu werden. Das ist Smart Picking der Zukunft.

Die Vorteile unserer HiLIS Pick-by-Robot-Lösung:

  • Das HiLIS WMS nimmt Aufträge aus Ihrem ERP-System, dem MES oder dem Webshop entgegen und leitet die Abwicklung ein.
  • Die robobrain-Lösung erhält den Kommissionierauftrag direkt vom WMS.
  • Der flexible Pickroboter führt den Kommissionierauftrag automatisch aus.
  • Das System kann flexibel in bestehende Kommissionierstationen integriert werden.
  • Die Produktivität Ihrer Kommissioniertätigkeiten steigt deutlich.

robobrain.vision - schnell, intelligent, instinktiv

Die Hand-Auge-Koordination gehört in der Robotik zu den komplexesten Herausforderungen. Für den Menschen selbstverständlich und bereits im ersten Lebensjahr erlernbar, für den Roboter eine große Hürde.

Mithilfe von Künstlicher Intelligenz und komplexen Vision-Algorithmen meistert die robobrain.vision jedoch genau diese Problemstellung. Die am Schwenkarm befestigte Kamera erkennt ein beliebiges Objekt und identifiziert selbstständig die optimalen Greifpunkte des Artikels.

robobrain.control

Mit robobrain.control gelingt Ihnen eine intuitive, smarte und simple Robotersteuerung. Über eine anwenderfreundliche Steuerungsoberfläche können Sie einzelne Anweisungen in einem Task zusammenfassen und via Drag and Drop im Ablaufdiagramm positionieren. Auch die gleichzeitige Steuerung mehrerer Roboter an einer Station ist mit robobrain.control möglich – unabhängig von der Schnittstelle.

 

Pick-by-Robot mit HÖRMANN Intralogistics - Innovation mit Sicherheit

Robotik-Lösungen sind immer weiter auf dem Vormarsch, in der Kleinteilekommissionierung jedoch häufig noch nicht im Einsatz. Mit vereinfachter Technik, intuitiver Bedienung, flexibler Interaktion und perfekt abgestimmter Schnittstelle zur robobrain-Lösung von robominds schafft unser innovatives WMS HiLIS RoboPick ein zukunftsfähiges Kommissioniersystem für die Intralogistik.

Die Schwenkarme lassen sich in kurzer Zeit in Betrieb nehmen, sind ohne tiefgreifende Programmierkenntnisse bedienbar, skalierbar und bequem nachzurüsten.

Machen Sie die Intralogistik in Ihrem Unternehmen jetzt zukunftssicher – mit HÖRMANN Intralogistics.